michigan man

By outdoorguy

An Easter Bonnet?

I have seen a lot of these ducks before...mostly in a domestic or a petting-farm setting. They give new meaning to the old saying..."He's an odd duck."

After a late lunch at Panera Bread (local or nation-wide ?), I was tricked into a shopping trip to a local city named Brighton. My brother-in-law said they had a nice millpond downtown with loads of ducks. They did. 3 different kinds of ducks, geese, and seagulls. It was a happening place with a huge kids playground and a couple of lovely walking bridges to the other side. Old time stores...quirky restaurants, and church steeples. Quite pretty.

I'm going to assume (maybe incorrectly) that the hatted duck is a female. The tuft doesn't have the "look" of a guys baseball hat with a bent brim. It has the look of a Sunday-goin-to-meetin look of a womans fancy hat.

I think it's funny to see the other 2 birds in the picture. The seagull is thinking..."People laugh at me for being a garbage bird? Look at her! That hat is embarrassing! Who wears white after Labor Day?"

Even her "husband" looks at her out of the corner of his eye. He is thinking..."Do you always have to wear that thing? Do you ever have a "good-hair" day?"

With a little research...I found out it was a Bali Duck, or a Balinese Crested Duck. Depending on where they live and their breeding habits...either 1 in 3, or 1 in 2...have the tuft.

If I could have...I would have broke into the title song of Bali Hai...but I don't know it. I appreciated that she let me take numerous pictures of her. I hope she didn't see or hear me chuckle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.