Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

The Tree is Sinking

... So said Miss 6 when asked about this photo. 8)

I went for a walk this morning, down to Snell's Beach, and spent a bit of time pursuing a seagull who was sitting and paddling in the water, and intermittently plunging its beak into the water - grabbing its breakfast, one assumes. As I turned back after my pursuit finally scared it off, I took a few shots of this pohutukawa that lies on the beach, partially submerged at high tide. I was really taken with the kind of timeless, faerie feel to the scene.

Just as well I liked it, because my battery died as I took it ;-) - Leaing me unable to photograph the most obliging tui I saw later on having its breakfast on some flax, flipping upside down and scooting down the stem and climbing back up nomming away - all while letting me get within about 1 1/2 metres. And I had my long lens. Ah well, never mind. I got another shot of a tui later in the day, which I was pretty pleased with, but this was overall a better photograph.

I sharpened it and added an overlay layer - which made it all "pop" a bit, and brought out the green of the trees reflected in the water.

Definitely best viewed large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.