The Wren

By TheWren

Caught in the light

I fear the euphoria of my holiday is dissipating with the reality of every day and I felt a bit low this morning. I had forgotten how great it was to have daily company - and confess to be missing it!

I felt ashamed of how I was feeling so I decided, after a brief flurry of essential housework, that I would have a really long walk today to clear my head and give myself a positive talking to. It has been another cold, dry day, albeit very cloudy, and perfect for striding out. With none of yesterday's wall to wall sunshine I took photos of various things along the way including lichen, some mosses and various views disappearing into low cloud. However this particular shot jumped out at me as I turned to look back to call the dogs who had given chase to something moving on the hill. I noticed that the sky behind me had become menacingly dark while the sun ahead was trying hard to make an impact on the day by penetrating any weakness in the mass of cloud. It had succeeded in breaking through a patch just enough to bring glorious golden highlights to these otherwise rather insignificant saplings. It made me realise - not for the first time - that without the dark we may fail to appreciate the light and similarly we need the lows to appreciate the highs.

I will leave you on that reflective note and aim to be more positive tomorrow! Have a good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.