The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Odd Bedfellows

I had my blip all sorted this morning .. a nice educational story about the Goldfinch, and got quite a nice picture of one too, despite the continuing gloomy weather.

That entry will have to wait for another day .. luckily my resident Goldfinches aren't going anywhere, so there should be plenty of time to get another photo of them.

That is of course if the Sparrowhawk doesn't get them! I was witness to two more attacks whilst sat in the garden hide. Once again, I was sat within six feet of an attacking sparrowhawk. I have, at least, learnt not to panic now. After three or four occasions, I know he (and she) aren't going to fly into the hide. I am going to set the camera trap up to see if I can at least get some photos of him/her. I have got a chance when she/he swoops, but when he/she comes screaming in, there's not a hope. There's absolutely no chance with the dSLR ... it's way too fast! Both attacks I witnessed today were fruitless, but I am seeing said Sparrowhawk frequently now. I did manage one very bad long distance photo of this magnificent predator when it flew into the woods and landed for a few minutes. It only ever lands in the garden when I haven't got the camera!

Instead, today you have these two characters being remarkably tolerant of each other. Normally the Greater Spotted Woodpecker would have given the Starling a short, sharp peck for his sheer audacity on sharing the same feeder. Not today it seems .. today seems to be a day for peace and love and share and share alike! Something we could all take on board ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.