The odd curiosity shot

By Flipscokid

Child's play?

It really struck me today that most of the children I teach don't seem to be 'children'. At least they don't seem to behave or enjoy life like children should. My childhood was spent climbing and falling out of trees, making dens and eking out every last minute that mum would allow me to stay out.

This little 'Tottanham'(at least that's what I've written on the box!) Subbuteo player typifies my childhood. So simple. I can't imagine how many hours I spent flicking these little plastic things around a rucked up pitch. Did I say flicking? Actually that wasn't allowed - gentle nudging only or the 2 inch ref would penalise you. Such fond memories.

Anyway, I came away from school today feeling a bit sad about some of the kids - having spoken to a few, too many admit they are self conscious and constantly worry about what other people think. I know children have always been the harshest critics but it just seems to dictate some of their little lives. A bit sad. I hope there are still plenty of nippers out there for whom every day is an adventure!




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.