phlipfoto

By phlipfoto

Time to put my trainers on.

Went back to the gym for the first time since before the festive period and found myself in a sea of new faces eager to 'improve themselves' for the new year. Not that that is a sleight on them, I very much count myself among them!

It's nearly time for me to start my 12-week half marathon training plan for the EMF in May possibly with the Balmoral 10k thrown in for good measure. I'm both excited and dreading it in equal measure, even the stairs seem to be proving a struggle at the moment so the thought of running an average of 26.8 miles per week is pretty horrific. Got a few weeks to build up, apparently I should be running an average of 15 miles per week beforehand...

I started reading The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde today and am really enjoying it so far. I mentioned that I wanted to read more this year when I was at my brother's house and as an English graduate, he armed me with an array of books before I left. These range from Our Man in Havana - a classic satire by Graham Greene about whom Time magazine wrote 'No serious writer of this century has more thoroughly invaded and shaped the public imagination than Graham Greene' - to Cops about which Playboy magazine wrote 'The stories they tell will make your day'.

Praise indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.