Starry Eyed Surprise

By bellerock

Birdhouse in your soul

Another really interesting day at work today.

An RE lesson, and I never fail to enjoy the interaction between students and Teacher as they 'come to grips' with big questions.

Who was Jesus? was the topic of today's lesson. They were looking at art and the artist's role in influencing thoughts and feelings about Jesus.

Some really deep thinkers in the class...I was very impressed.

This is really childish, but I really enjoy guessing the Teacher's belief system by listening to their tone of voice, the words they use, how they answer questions and their body language to see if it betrays what they really think.

It's just a silly game I like to play, but I am genuinely interested in people's belief systems or not as the case may be.

Anyway, this is an ornament I keep in the kitchen, and it always reminds me of a favourite song of mine by They Might Be Giants


And perhaps it's a poignant one about RE lessons and the questions they evoke.

make a birdhouse (being a safe place for something small and vulnerable) for the light it creates in your mind and soul.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.