Another day goes by

By WelshSi

How meaty is your sausage?

I do love a sausage, and one of my favourites is the bratwurst. I have loved them ever since my first trip to Germany. They are large and thick with meat, no fat or gristle will be found in these lovely bangers.

But, and there is a BIG but. We were taken on a trip to a pig farm which had a bit of a fair there. Great I thought, I like a farm park, but this was no fun park. The conditions that the pigs were kept was absolutely awful. There were so many in one pen that they could hardly move, and that was from young to old. Well I was not impressed to say the least, I couldn't get out of there quick enough.

On a positive note, on Countryfile they did report that the pig farms in europe will be forced to look after their pigs like we do in Britain very soon. Also that trip was over 10 years ago, so they may have changed already, lets hope so.

I would like to add before someone comments, yes I do still eat them even though I witnessed this myself. Not sure what that makes me, but I do feel for those pigs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.