Edinburgh Chap's Photos

By GilesGuthrie

Killer Headphones (11/366)

These Bowers and Wilkins C5 headphones were a Christmas present from my wife. It's taken a while, but today I finally bonded with them.

I think there's a bedding-in period with headphones, especially the earbud type. You have to get used to them, get used to placing them in just the right position to be comfortable and sound their best. With these B&Ws, this was further complicated by the loop design. The loop is adjustable - the idea being that you adjust the loop so that it lodges in the sticky-out part of your ear above the ear canal, holding the buds in place. Get it right, and they sound superb.

But it took until today for them to really work their magic with me. I was wandering along Slateford Road, listening to Josh Wink's "Higher State of Consciousness". It's a real workout for hi-fi, and my brain suddenly appreciated just what a great job of replaying this difficult track the headphones were doing. I guess what triggered it is that I'd never really enjoyed listening to it before.
They're truly great phones.

This is the result of the first session with my new mini studio. If you want to learn more about me and product photography and this shot, here's a blog post.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.