Motorists vs Pedestrians...

Let me paint you a picture...

There is a road with one pedestrian crossing which is on your route along the road.

To save time waiting at the crossing for the lights to let the pedestrians across, you just push the button and then continue along the street until the lights change and then cross the road.

Granted, not as safe as crossing at the actual crossing but it does stop the traffic on one side of the and depending on how far along you get, the traffic can also build up and stop letting you pass between them and cross.

Now I used to think this would be quite annoying for a motorist as it can be slightly annoying having to stop when there is nobody crossing. However, I think this is an okay compromise as I would have pushed the button stopping the traffic anyway.

I think a driver took exception to me doing this once (I more or less do it everyday I get the bus home) and just drove through the red light.

What do you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.