Rags of light

By CarolG1

Leg stretch

I'm a bit more organised this week so here's my take on the word of the week: exercise.

I love running by the sea. Every day is new -the water is always a different colour, the sights, sounds and smells are various and wonderful. At the moment I'm doing short distances but when I do longer runs I can take in miles and miles of the seafront, from the genteel calm of Hove to the gaudy delights of the central Brighton stretch, and on to the clifftops of Rottingdean and beyond. Over the years I've seen fisherman doing tai chi on the beach, mods riding into town on their scooters, films being made, Christians being baptised, swimmers going out in all weathers.

And most of all I see other runners. The Brighton Marathon, now nearly three years old, has really boosted the numbers out training, but Brighton has always been a place for people to put on their shoes and just head off along the coast. This morning I was meandering with the dog and had plenty of choice of people to complement the beautiful early light in this shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.