Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Eider Ducks II

After another very stormy night, this morning dawned much brighter and the wind soon abated. Tried a few sunrise shots but they were all like ones before and were kicked into touch.

With the sun rising in the sky I decided to give the Eider Ducks another go at the harbour. At least there would be a bit more light about. When I arrived the Eiders were sitting off the end of the harbour and not really blipable from the car park. I walked onto the harbour and as I approached the Eiders started swimming away from me and only stopped when they were outwith the range of a decent shot. However I managed to rattle off a few blips as the moved away from me.

I settled on this shot as there is all kind of activity going on. There's bottoms up, heads up and the flapping of wings I want to capture in more detail from the front. I also liked the blue of the water and the sun shining on the females showing their colours much better than on a grey day.

I promise Eider Ducks are not going to take over from sunrise blips and become a regular feature! Well, not unless I can't get that shot I am after!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.