Oops!

This lorry driver caused absolute traffic mayhem this evening. His lorry was wedged under the rail bridge at Brixton for three hours, during which time no buses could travel down Brixton Road, one of the main routes south. I was trapped on a bus on the wrong side of the bridge.

A police officer came on board and told the driver that there'd been an accident and someone was going to arrive to redirect the buses. I searched on twitter and found an image of the accident and showed it to the folk on the bus (it's the express bus - it's like a community rather than a bunch of random strangers). At that point, realising that we weren't going anywhere fast, the West Norwood folk left the bus. I felt sorry for the Croydon-bound folk who were really stuck. Since the truck had hit a railway bridge, the trains were delayed, too, until someone could check the structural damage.

As we walked up the road, we told puzzled people at bus stops along the way that no buses were going to arrive anytime soon. It didn't take me too long to walk from Brixton and I suppose it's all exercise, so I'm not complaining. I hope the truck driver is OK. He must have had a bit of a shock!

It's a busy week at work this week - deadlines, deadlines, deadlines - but the light is now at the end of the tunnel. I have a great team and they're doing their damnedest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.