Out of the fire

It wasn't an inspiring day, weatherwise. Fred and I went for a token walk to Dulwich. There's a huge church that we cycle past, but we've never visited for a nosey. After our St Bartholomew exploration last weekend, we thought we'd take a look. I was expecting a similarly dark interior, but this was altogether different. The lower level is a community hall area and there were a fair few kids taking part in sport. The church itself is above the lower floor and is a marvellous mix of modern and new. The roof towered above our heads with smooth, polished wood. It's so light, too, and it felt like a great, quiet place. The stonework inside looked like it had seen better days; parts were eroded and some columns had been cut away, but some of the carvings were in great shape. I looked up the history of the church on my return home. It was built in 1891, but was gutted by a fire in 2000. It reopened in 2006 after a major refit.

We were tempted by a sign for a "Ghillie's Ball" at the church in the evening (I haven't been to a ceilidh for ages), but when it came to it, we couldn't face the walk through the cold back to the church when we could watch a film on the sofa (I know, lazy, lazy...) We watched Avengers Assemble, which was greatly entertaining and very funny in parts. I particularly loved Iron Man's lines.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.