Views, vistas and visions

By alands

Day seventeen: Saigon

Managed to get out of bed in time to attend the Cu Chi tunnels. I get the impression they are very interesting and a generally fine thing. Just didn't get that feeling from actually visiting same.

I did get the feeling that I am FAR too fat even now to be VC guerilla fighter. The chap demonstrating the tunnel entrances (see photo) was barely able to get into hole, and he had the girth of a small leg of lamb. Even though the bit of tunnel you can actually get into had been widened and deepened, it was just enough to allow a whippet (Sarah) in but certainly not a mastiff (Alan).

I think therefore that, when I'm defending Scotland from Alec's Sunday-Post-shortbread-n-tartan-loving independence nutjobs, it will be a non-tunnel based fight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.