Dream drapery

Mist

Low-anchored cloud,
Dunmanus air,
Fountain head and source of rivers,
Dew-cloth, dream drapery,
And napkin spread by fays;
Drifting meadow of the air,
Where bloom the daisied banks and violets,
And in whose fenny labyrinth
The bittern booms and heron wades;
Spirit of the lake and seas and rivers,
Bear only perfumes and the scent
Of healing herbs to just men's fields!

Henry David Thoreau (with a slight adaptation)

This is the view today - a certain damp and silent charm, with last year's cygnet lonely wandering.

A great night with Margaret last night - she and Declan had just been to arrange their wedding and were both radiant. They are to be married in a civil ceremony in March. Declan has been married before and the priest was extremely sniffy - he said they could have a mass behind closed doors with only family present. Margaret taught me a new expression' F*** him an the horse he rode in on!' I can't wait to use it!! This is in exchange for one I taught her a couple of years ago before the Christmas play, a Hollywood expression apparently, very useful before you have to shine : 'Eyes, teeth and tits'.
When I returned I was annoyed to see all the links I'd spent ages putting into my journal yesterday had disappeared - so apologies to those I mentioned, you should have been linked! I was going to fix it but the oops sign came up and I couldn't face any more faffing.

I've earned my euros today!! A relaxing morning in the big room but then I had to go swimming. I mean really go swimming! We took the whole school and I was the lucky one to travel in the mini-bus. We had a couple of children who were very nervous and two who are special needs, so Hannah, classroom assistant, and I offered to go in with them. One lad was sick before we left school, one little girl had brought her school bag and not her swimming bag so went in in vest and knickers, one strapping lad of 8 was accompanied by his mum as he can't dress himself yet, and the girl who was really nevervous - her mum had forgotten to give her her cossie, missed the mini-bus and arrived late, far more nervous than was necessary. All was well until 'playtime' when Jason, the rather hunky instructor, played Simon Says and guess what one of the isntructions was - Simons says splash Amanda'. Thanks Jason, you *****.

Anyway, a shower, cuppa and sticky bun and things are restored. And it's friday.Have a great weekend :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.