A Laughing Cry

By laughingcry

Orienteering in the New Forest

Today was our Summer team outing in the New Forest, where we enjoyed an afternoon of orienteering.

Armed with a map and compass we set off at 13:30 on a 10K walk across some picturesque and quite stunning sections of the New Forest, a couple of miles south of Lyndhurst. Took many shots of the various ponies we came across, but nothing really had the uniqueness of this photo. How did those roots really end up like that?

It was extremely boggy in places and I really did curse myself as I 'squelched' along in drenched socks. Why had I again worn flimsy plimsole-type shoes when a pair of gortex walking boots sat in a carrier bag in my loft..?

We were supposed to get back by 15:30 for a barbeque but ended up getting a bit lost and stumbled back at around 17:00, by which time most of the food had disappeared...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.