this luminous life.

By Laura

Lazy Line Painter Jane.

Belle & Sebastian.

No, this is not a masterpiece.
No, this isn't supposed to be art.
Yeah, I didn't keep my camera around much today.

This is just me absentmindedly mashing my brush around on the paper and trying to figure out if my paints were dried up or thinned out (I'm positive these can't be the only colors I have, as well). The paints aren't even intended for paper, actually, but glass surfaces. I found these paints while going through my closet. Over four years ago, I decided to 'make' Christmas presents for my friends -- bought glass candle holders and personalized each candle-holder with their favorite colors, a picture, and their names. Candles in the shape of snowballs were placed inside. I think I painted about twelve of them. That might be the last time (aside from knitting projects) that I was absorbed in something creative for other people. What does that mean? Time to be creative again! :)

Speaking of creative... I've felt as if most of my blip entries consist of me listing my activities of the day, rather than launching into rants & raves & thoughts as I've previously used journals for. I think most of that stems from the fact that this is completely public and the things I'd like to share cannot be too public (sometimes to respect other people's privacy). Alas, it's frustrating. I mean, isn't that what journals are for? I've wanted to express lately how angry I have been about several things. How used I feel. And yet how happy I am about other things. And how I'm looking forward to so many new opportunities and experiencing the world! Well, I guess those are just thoughts I'll save in my head until I write them down on a rainy day... if I'm not too busy living life. :-D

[A year ago today... sometimes cars bleed.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.