Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Early evening, Goldsworth Park Lake, Woking

We worked hard all day on the house, shifting stuff between bedrooms until I ended up with a nice new study, spacious enough for a comfy reading chair. Yes, I'm well pleased. We chucked a lot of old papers and books out but that's made barely a dent in the book collection which runs to more than 2,000 titles (note to self: must get a Kindle).

We even persuaded George to chuck out some stuff before he abandoned us for university. There wasn't much light left when we dropped him at the station but the cranes and apartment blocks of Woking made a nice silhouette against the glow in the sky so I stopped the car and walked a way to get the shot, only to find there was no battery in the camera, no spare and no spare camera. The light had almost gone by the time we'd gone back home for a battery and taken the dogs to the lake.

But this is an urban lake so there's quite a bit of sodium lighting and that created a nice contrast with the bit of blue left in the sky. I'd taken my tripod but a bit fell off it in the car park and it was too dark to fix it so I had to hold the camera as steady as I could with a high ISO. Anyway I was quite pleased with this, considering. There's even a star out. It would have been a shame not to have got anything out of the day looking at all the lovely blips that others have done today. In our bit of the UK - and it seems elsewhere too - it was a very clear day; let the frosty mornings continue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.