Robin at large

By Robin

Frozen North

Seemed like a nice idea today to head off into the highlands in search of snow. While we saw some patches of snow it remained that, patches. The altitude must have been high though as our ears popped on the way up.

Sometimes I like to take photographs I consider to be "artistic", and so I took some close ups of the frost on leaves and branches. I feel they did not convey the cold as much as a frozen fountain. So here is a frozen fountain.

On the way back down to ground level we stopped off for a wander round the ruins of Kildrummy Castle. I am glad they leave it open for people to visit in winter, even though it is officially closed. One up for Historic Scotland in my book. Since I am a member it makes no difference financially, but it is still nice they keep it accessible.

The sheep were curious about us on the walk up to the castle. We saw several pheasants during the course of the day. We had hoped to see some deer, but maybe they though it too cold.

Back at sea level a stop off at a hotel for a glass of wine. Although a cold day there were constantly clear skies. The scenery was spectacular, and the frost added different aspects to the countryside where it made the trees shades of grey through to white.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.