New Dawn

There was lightness in the sky as I left town, through the countryside and down a few gravel roads. I stopped along the way as there was a fine mist rising from some ponds where ducks and shags were still having a little shut eye.

By the time I got to the beach the birds were in full chorus as they greeted this new dawn. I parked the car under the pine trees, a little hesitant, as the thought of earthquakes was looming at the back of my mind, but once I was at the estuary and could hear the sea I felt at ease, as if I was home. I lingered at the estuary with one eye on the sky towards the beach, the tide was on the turn and the estuary quite empty. It was not long before the call of the sea beckoned me and my pace picked up as I climbed over the sand dunes wondering what would be before my eyes.

With the sky so clear and a few clouds just peeping over the dunes I wasn't prepared for the row of clouds and there stunning reflections and colours on the wet sand. I walked and waited for the sun to rise, birds flying by and a few other people began to arrive for this new dawn on a fine summer's morn.

A quiet day followed, a few jobs, a little gardening and some much needed time at the gym. Its been warm with a gentle breeze, quite pleasant after the last few windy days.

Time for tea now - BBQ Lamb Steaks marinated in honey and mint sauce, salad and new potatoes from our garden and I guess some peas as hubby likes peas.

Have a great week everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.