There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Two Roads Diverged in a Snowy Wood

So I knew the title for this one had to come from either a Frost or a Dickinson quote. But that certain slant of light was anything but oppressive, so I went with Frost; I beg pardon, Mr. Frost, for these woods are snowy, not yellow.

It had been very cold for several days and I hadn't been outside much, so when my husband suggested we take a Sunday afternoon hike through the game lands, I was eager to go.

We haven't had a lot of snow yet, but a little was on the ground, giving the trails that wintry feeling. There has been plenty of water; and with the recent cold temps, the water that covers low-lying parts of the trail is mostly frozen, making for slick travels. You have to watch your step.

As the afternoon wore on, the slant of light grew long and golden, and we turned toward home. Happily, the road not taken will be there waiting the next time we visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.