This is my Blip Life

By Kathy

Downy Duckling......

When i was learning to read, Ladybird books were in every childs book case and school bag.
One particular book called Downy Duckling has always been close to my heart.
Here is a little excerpt.....

From her little cottage window, Mrs Downy Duck looked out . Said "oh what a frosty morning! What a lot of ice about!"
Then she called to Downy Duckling , "fetch a pail of water, please ! All the taps and pipes are frozen .... wear your scarf or you may freeze "
Off went Downy with his bucket, and his scarf about him tied : "Come straight back" called Mrs Downy ; "All right, mother, " he replied.

I have such fond memories of reading this out loud with my mother and father , especially at bed time , when I was always encouraged to read. In later years , whenever it was frosty, my mother and I always used to recite the first few lines , and we never forgot Downy . A couple of years ago, I found the book on the internet and purchased it . It felt so good to own it again and re- read the little adventure.

Just before my mum died, we were talking about books , and I reminded her about Downy . I took it to the hospital and we read it together , we were word pefect. To me, this book is priceless, the memories and the words will stay with me forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.