Long Blue Riband

Here's a lovely little Long-tailed Duck at Belhaven Bay, with the Bass Rock (inevitably) in the background. I was down for a breather from working at home and enjoying the very still and bright day when I realised the dot on the sea was a new one to me. "A blue riband species for the birdwatcher," according to our RSPB Complete Book of British Birds. So, I'll stick that feather in my cap.

Big Blue Riband.

Turns out that this is a male in his winter plumage, and that they winter here but breed in the far north. This one was alone, sitting still for ages before diving for 30 seconds or so and then flying a short distance and repeating. Oh, and he shook his tail-feather a fair bit!

I got some nice shots of wigeon and the sunset as well today. Those are on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.