What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Technology: Life's new essentials

We had a power cut the other day, my phone died and I found I was without internet! The power stayed out for 16 hours...you forget how totally dependant we are in the internet and electricity in general - it's what makes the world go round! Hence the kinda cheesy technology circling the planet.

On a technical issue, the image comprises 5 basic elements:

The background was a dish of water on black velvet, lit by a glancing flash which highlighted tiny bubbles at the base of the dish, to give the night sky appearance, as I needed f25, I shot at 1600ISO (everything else shot at 400 ISO)

The planet is an Isle-of-wight glass vase, which has a cracked gold leaf effect.

The three tech bits were photographed against a plain background.

27 layers later - with a few radial blur and warped layers, you get the pic. It's the first time I've tried anything like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.