In Between Days

By jase

Buttercross

Alana went to the pantomime at the Town Hall this evening with Guides. One of us had to venture out into the freezing cold in order to pick her up. Guess who drew the short straw. Actually no straws were drawn!

She enjoyed it anyway. A performance of Sinbad by the local theatre group. I got the impression there were three comedy characters with very similar names and a man...wait for it... dressed as a woman!

The picture is of St Giles Church with the Buttercross in front. I was brought up to believe that Pontefract would never run out of water because under the Buttercross was a deep deep well, which I always imagined as some big underground reservoir. The pump can be seen in the picture. I am not sure how true this is and 50 thousand people sharing one pump wouldn't work would it.

PS. I forgot to say - Louis and I finished Kirby's Adventure on the Wii this evening. He was so pleased (high fives all round) and its virtually all his own effort. I just helped him fight the big boss at the end - he just kept on coming! It's not the end of the game though as it looks like we've unlocked lots of goodies :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.