Thy Acrid Teardrop

By RadicalRadish

In Five Years Time...

Today is the fifth anniversary of me sitting in my consultants office and being told I had a brain tumour. It seems different this year, I should be getting discharged and if all had gone well I would be. Instead I am waiting for the radiotherapy to commence and I can't help but wonder where I will be in another five years time.

A lot has changed since that Diagnosis Day. Back then I was half way through my psychology degree and was preparing for the January exams, I was in a relationship with a lovely guy, my best friend was still living and I really did believe everything would turn out fine. Now I have my BSc Psychology, I'm single but ok with that because I wouldn't want a relationship while I'm like this, my best friend has gone and I don't believe things will turn out fine anymore.

One of the best things in the past five years happened only recently, in September 2011. He is the subject of today's Blip. Danté has been an amazing addition to my life. He's funny, cuddly, gentle....I have no fear about letting him run off-lead in the park or woods because he couldn't be aggressive if he tried. He's good fun, a bouncy pup (15mths) and if I wake up in the night I can stretch my foot out and usually he'll be right there on the end of the bed, even though he has a perfectly nice bed of his own..!

I spent a long time thinking about whether I ought to get a dog or not, I grew up with lots of dogs in my life - mainly gundogs or working dogs belonging to family but some pet ones as well. As an adult I've had two dogs of my own so I know exactly what is involved. Talking to people who know me best I decided that I could give a dog all it would need but I still waited a couple of months before taking the plunge. The moment that I met Danté I knew that we'd be suited to each other and I wasn't wrong. Back then I didn't know that my health would decline and radiotherapy would be necessary but as soon as I knew I put things in place so Danté would have routine and be alright. We found a brilliant guy who takes him for walks when I can't and Danté totally adores him. I have great friends who (if they can) will come over and stay with him if I have a long hospital appointment. Yeah, safe to say, no regrets.

So today is kind of bittersweet. I can see the good among the not so good and I'll just keep taking one day at a time, hour by hour if needs be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.