Thy Acrid Teardrop

By RadicalRadish

Oh No He's Not!

Boooooo!!!! Hissssssss!! He's behind you!!!

This afternoon I went along to King's Theatre in Edinburgh and I was met there by Grant Stott who is currently playing the role of Gobina McPhlegm evil baddie ugly sister. He very kindly took some time to give me a guided tour of the theatre, show me how the show gets put together with props (including real ponies!) and explained some of the history of the building.

As we started with the stage and Grant showed me behind the safety curtain I hadn't yet seen the auditorium. When we made our way to there I was absolutely blown away by how intricate and beautiful the decoration of the ceiling and edges of the balconies is. He explained that originally there was a very high balcony which was equipped with bench type seating but people would stand up there to get a good view of the stage. To be honest, the top balcony from where we were standing didn't look overly high, when I was taken to have a look from it I realised that it is in fact extremely high up! To then imagine another balcony being above that one - actually I can't imagine it.

I had a brilliant time and am very grateful to Grant for making it happen, that's the second thing now ticked off my 'bucket list'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.