Lookabootye

By hcalibrarian

Union Canal Aqueduct at Longstone

This is on my route to and from work everyday. The daylight was fading when I took this photo, but I still think it's worth the blip.

Do you see the cobbled, narrow pathway? Cyclists are supposed to stop and walk their bike along this bit, but hardly any cyclist I meet are walking (including myself). The first few times I cycled along the aqueduct, I must admit it was nerve-racking. There is a slight tilt in the pathway down towards the water... However, I've got used to it now and even manage to cycle past other walkers and cyclist (though someone has to stop and cling to the railings to allow cyclist to carry on along the path).

My new bike has a mechanism in it (I obviously don't know much about the technical side of bikes), which allows me to "bounce" over the cobbles. Great stuff!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.