horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

The Godfather

For a movie geek there's something of a gap in my back catalogue. Y'see I've never watched the Godfather all of the way through. I've seen bits, and never been that impressed to explore further. Well, ladies and gentlemen, that gap is soon to be filled courtesy of LoveFilm. I'm expecting it to live down to expectations...

Weird day at work. The results of the review of the legal 'community' were announced, and there are losses in our department. Our team in fact. Well, one of two of us basically. Strange though, save for a few ring-fenced positions we're all having to re-apply for our jobs. Oh, or other people's jobs. Or a few newly created jobs. Yes, newly created jobs. But overall 74 positions are being... displaced. Seriously. Displaced. Almost a year to the day that I was last displaced.

But, and this is the bizarre thing, I'm actually probably in a better position given I'm on a 6 month extension at the mo. Basically, by the end of March I'll know if I've got a job, and it'll be a permanent position if not; and if I don't get a job and suffer displacement I'll have 3 months notice from the end of March to find a new job at a much better time of year than the stress before Christmas.

It took virtually the whole day to come to that conclusion. But concluded it has been. Although IT have thrown a spanner in the works by seemingly following HR's lead and thinking I've actually left meaning I can't log-in to the document required to apply for the positions equivalent to my grade. Though I can still log-in to my computer. Go figure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.