October 4th Journal

By IONAX

Thorrinn NOW

To-day is the first day of Thorrinn the fourth month of Winter according to our Old Calendar. This first day is Bóndadagur - The day of the Husband (House-band=Húsbóndi) and the start of Thorrablot - a feast with food, processed with sour whey, such as sour whale and ram scrotum, also smoked lamb and dried fish.
This was the custom before Christianity (The year 1000) and then it faded away into the coming centuries - but was reborn in 1873 by Icelandic students in Copenhagen, Denmark. (The year my grandfather was born)
As I am not found of this kind of food I decided to follow the rule of my teacher in ethnology (folklore) and have food from my childhood - Lamb chops in rasp with green peas and potatoes, but as it is only 09:00 o'clock (Iceland is on GMT) I have to wait with the picture till 18:30 or there about.

Uploaded at 18:48 and here it is - or was - as now it is in my stomach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.