Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Raindrop

Another wet day and it was necessary to put on wellies and a barber coat to get today's blip. I took several photographs of flowers with raindrops, but wanted something different to the one I posted yesterday. In the end I choose this single raindrop hanging from a branch on the Discovery apple tree; I liked the reflections more than anything else.

Waitrose has delivered the groceries and it is nearly the weekend. I was thinking earlier, having your shopping delivered is not really a new or very different idea to when my mother had her groceries delivered every Friday.

The system consisted of two red exercise books; my mother wrote her list and when the grocer delivered the groceries from the list in the other book, he took away the new list and left one a book so that during the week she could write her order for the following week. The groceries arrived in a large brown cardboard box, which the grocer unpacked on the kitchen table and the box was taken away; this was recycling back in the 1940s. Payment was by cash on delivery. He always came at lunch time and had a cup of tea, so this must have been before I went to school, otherwise I would not have been there; I still have some of these little red books somewhere!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.