Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

New Chairs

This is the dining hall at Linacre College Oxford. We were in there not, I regret, to eat, since the food is rather good there, but to admire the new chairs!

The reason we were admiring the new chairs is that we were collecting one of the old benches that used to surround these tables before the chairs came. The Wonderspouse is an alumnus of Linacre College, having been there as a graduate student (I stayed at Christ Church, but, in hindsight, would have rather liked to have gone to Linacre), and was thus able to acquire one of the old benches, which will be absolutely splendid to have in our house.

It's rather nice to have a piece of Linacre history too, since we spent a lot of time there together when we were very close for a while, about 6 years before we married. At the time, he was training me to be a powerlifter in the gym!!! Yes, really! I was quite good too, but decided against a career in powerlifting because I was going to be a Mendelssohn scholar instead!!!

Furthermore, one of my (now late) best friends was one of the people who founded Linacre College. I mentioned this to the staff who were helping us with the bench and showing us round and they told me that he has a chair dedicated to him supported by some of his students.

Neither of us was able to stay to lunch unfortunately (although we were urged to come back and dine there sometime) since the Wonderspouse had to get back to work and I was going up to see Scharwenka, which I did. I also did the afternoon shopping, then met up with the Wonderspouse again and we took the bench home.

I'll blip the bench sometime. I'm a bit up to my ears in stuff at the moment, so blip updating has been a bit sporadic recently. Trying to get everything sorted before I really hit the job hunting - which has to happen soon, before the bank manager starts sticking pins in an effigy of me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.