Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

Bobby - living a quiet life

Vets appointment this morning for Bobby boy. My sister in law gave us a lift so it was less stressful for Bobby than a bus journey.

Mind you he was already stressed. We had trouble with the tablet - he ran away when he saw me with the towel, he wriggled and squirmed in the towel and then managed to spit the tablet out 3 times. Got it down him in the end. Then when I finally managed to get him in his cat carrier he went crazy - crashing into the sides and scratching like mad. So much for trying to keep him calm.

Mentioned the tablet trouble to vet and she agreed that I could crush one up and put it in with a tiny bit of food. Then wait the hour and give him his full meal. She said it's not ideal as you are supposed to give the tablet on an empty stomach and wait an hour before food but she said its more important that he doesn't get stressed.

She also suggested Feliway - a spray which is supposed to calm cats so I bought some ( costs over £30 - which I don't mind paying but you have to wonder why on earth it costs so much).

I asked what the future holds for Bobby. She said his heart is in a bad way. Basically he could just drop down dead at any minute. Not what I wanted to hear. Have to go back to vets when his tablets run out - or if his condition worsens. So we have to live one day at a time and try to keep Bobby happy and calm.

Once he got home he was fine and has had a good day. He even had a visit from Cookie my neighbour's cat - and Cookie seemed to get the vibe and didn't try to play fight with Bobby or upset him. Cookie just went upstairs and slept on my bed till his owners got back from work.

Was at the nurse this afternoon for bandage change - my leg was very painful and nurse said I should see the emergency doctor. Waited 1 and a half hours to see her as I didn't have an appointment. Have now got antibiotics as well as painkillers.

Its not all bad news today.... Neil got a job. It's in a call centre. Not his preferred choice of job but as he is skint he was ready to take anything. Means he can probably stay in Melbourne for a while. He is looking for a house to rent with some friends.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.