Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Vanier College Courtyard II

Three months ago, I blipped this view in full autumnal glory. Now, a thin blanket of snow. Winter has been fairly mild and little precipitation. Not good for the water tables or farmers come spring if this does not change.

I was in my other office today to tutor drop-ins on writing. I had a nice young chap named Omar today. First year undergraduate in need of some essay advising. It was a productive hour.

YFILE had a story on me today. It is a tweaked version of the Grad News story from Wednesday. It is good publicity for the still-green Grad program in Science and Technology Studies. It is also a good little story on how part-time students like me can secure small but useful research grants. Typically, grants are not available to part-timers; just full-timers. However, if one trolls deep and casts a wide net, some funding can be had to defray out-of-pocket expenses. I am glad that my Van de Graaff research is fairly local (Boston, Chicago, and DC) versus say, in Europe or even on the south or west of North America.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.