An Everyday Rocket

By everydayrocket

Plants do not grow merely to satisfy ambitions

...or to fulfill good intentions. They thrive because someone expended effort on them.

One of the many plants in my office - it's a jungle in there. Really helps ground the space. Coworkers stop by just to sit and zen out. I'm also 90 percent convinced that my air quality is better!

The above is a prayer plant, or maranta leuconeura, so named because at night all the leaves fold in on each other (I guess like praying hands). The new leaves pop out all scrolled up, and it's neat to watch them slowly unfurl.

I think of it more as a friendship plant, as I was given a cutting to root by a friend three years ago, and from that cutting now have four other prayer plants, plus three more that were gifted to friends, so they can share the green love.

(Entry quote from Liberty Hyde Bailey)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.