a town called E.

By Eej

National Squirrel Appreciation Day




I know, I know, it's not like I need a special day since EVERY day is squirrel appreciation day in my world, but it's officially on January 21st. To celebrate I ignored all possibilities of snuggles and breakfast and went outside. Sure, the skies are blue and the sun is out but even wrapped in several layers I immediately found out that what I perceived as a beautiful crisp day was, in fact, freezing cold. I cursed squirrel appreciation day through gritted teeth and frozen nosehair (16F/-10C).
But then it became clear that today must also be Erica Appreciation Day in squirrel land because for the first time since December 25th (when I installed my Christmas-present-to-myself) not everyone scattered up, down and away when I approached. And I have so wanted to get a photo of a squirrel on the swing. Thank you, Percy!

I also saw a Brown Creeper for the first time in my life. Hurray!

Later today we're going to the Brewery around the corner to celebrate their one year anniversary - but the chances of finding a squirrel there are as likely as me coming back stone cold sober. *cough* Better get my Blip out of the way :)


ps. It appears it's also National Hug Day, but I guess combining the two would be a bad idea. I'll hug more willing victims instead ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.