Definitely not muzak tonight

I arranged for Pip and I to go out for a pint with Dailykeith, my old friend from Stroud who now lives in Bristol. I had hoped to introduce them for some months and we had a good fun round a small table at the Hare on the Hill in Kingsdown, Bristol. Keith and I often meet in my local back home in Stroud, so this was a good new venue recommended by P|ip. It has good ales and a quiet, calm atmosphere for easy chatting.

I heard Keith's good news and his hopes for the future, which sounded very good to me. As we were bantering together, the landlord came over and mentioned that the window seats we were in would soon be the stage for the local musicians who were coming to play Irish traditional music together.

The fiddler turned up first, followed soon after a man with his concertina, a guitarist and a while later a woman with her flute. We asked their permission to take pictures, as I was keen to blip and Keith had with him his brand new Nikon, which I was very interested in. It was quite dark so it was full ISO tonight. I am pleased to say that DailyKeith blipped from there too, with a wider lens.

It turned out that Pip knew the fiddler, whose name is Pete, from years ago. Bringing people together is what a good local should do. When we were leaving the landlord came outside and chatted to us, hoping we had enjoyed ourselves, telling us that he has just taken over the pub. We all wished him well and I have a feeling the Pip and Keith will be back there before long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.