Snowboarding in Stroud

On waking this morning, I immediately sensed that special sound of silence that I associate with snow falls. Helena soon heard that both of her jobs today would be cancelled so that she would have a free day. Looking out of the rear windows I was surprised how much had actually fallen. The birds had congregated in the hedge, trees and shrubs close to the hanging bird feeders in various places. I had filled them all yesterday, but they were now covered in snow, some of which had drifted sideways to block the food.

Eventually I went out in proper clothing with my camera and did a bit of clearing of snow. But my efforts were puny compared to Helena's efforts in clearing the steps and paths and sprinkling salt on the paths. The wind was gusting quite hard at times and snow would be blown sideways off the branches of trees in white clouds. It was rather beautiful, but I was also feeling sorry for all the wildlife everywhere, as they have no back-up systems for feeding and heating themselves. I stood in the doorway of the cabin and took pictures of the many bird; robins, goldfinches, nuthatches, blackbirds, various tits, bullfinches, blackcaps, a thrush (I think) and the regular magpie, pigeons and crows. I was pleased with the results as I often don't manage to get good exposures in snowy conditions.

I also walked to the bottom of the garden behind which the valley drops very steeply down to the stream and we can see across to the Weyhouse and the next valley leading to The Heavens. I had expected many people to be out with various attempts at sledges, but there were only a handful on the various sloping meadows on the far side of the valley which is less steep. It has continued snowing all day and I suppose the very cold and grey conditions kept people indoors. We are so lucky to have these views and quiet country life to overlook. I'm never complacent about that.

At one point I saw this young man climbing high up to the top of the pasture next to the Weyhouse woods which you can see behind him. The tree line actually marks the old boundary of the woods where an ancient track drops down from the top flatter land of the Cotswolds, providing the easiest access down to the main valley bottom and a crossing point of the river Frome, to get access to the Iron Age hill fort on the far side at Rodborough.

From this point the snowboarder could drop through the remains of the old hedgebank and join the Wey where it leaves the woodland and carries on down the hillside as a holloway, before reaching a ford over the Lime Brook. He probably had a good run of at least four hundred yards, which he was filming with a camera in his right hand, with his glove hanging from his right arm. I've chosen this image as it is certainly the only time I have see someone do this, and I suppose I like the idea of my blip reflecting what happens in our world. Perhaps the sun will shine soon so I can find some kids shouting and screaming as they sledge excitedly down the hillside too. I know Woodpeckers will be tempted. We do have a sledge which she bought secondhand a few years ago. Watch this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.