Which way does the wind blow?

I was very tired today and took a while to get up. But I had to meet the head of the town council's Green Spaces team, in preparation for the next Town Council finance committee meeting on Monday night. I was able to get personally briefed on a series of issues that we need to discuss, so I feel I can chair the meting properly now.

Jim works from the offices in the old chapel buildings at the cemetery. It is sited just about two hundred yards away from our house, and about one hundred higher. I always like seeing the views from there as they are similar to our own but from a higher vantage point. I must return there for another blip soon, as there are so many options, with the graves and memorial stones set within a nature reserve with the Cotswold hills and the Severn Vale as backdrops.

I carried on up the hillside along the old road to Bisley, as we needed to stock up with fresh vegetables at the Stancombe Beech farm shop. As always I had to chat with several people, including Sally and her brother Ashley, who are part of the family that run the farm. I came away with such fine leeks, curly kale and three types of potatoes that they grow there, as well as stocks of sunflowers seeds for the bird feeders.

Ashley turned up as I was outside the barn taking photos of the weathervane. He told me that his Dad, who I had also seen working in the shop, had bought the weathervane about twenty or more years ago, but they hadn't anywhere then to mount it. It is only with their successful development in recent years that they could bring it out of the dusty store and proudly fix it atop the new barn.

Ashley also said I should have a look at the next farm down the road, as they have a weathervane with a more modern version of the farming scene, just a tractor without even a plough. I did see it and there is no contest in my mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.