A bit more work required .....

We have both feeling rather lazy today, with the last week's working exertions having caught up with us. We nipped out to buy a few essentials from our nearest corner shop, Waitrose. We are lucky to have it so close.

I persuaded Helena to come on with me to see the recently renewed lock gates at Wallbridge, very near the centre of town. There is now water in the lock again as the renewal work on the Thames and Severn canal progresses slowly upstream towards Brimscombe.

As a town councillor, I'm involved in several committees and working groups which are trying to steer the future developments that are likely to occur alongside the canal. The area I am standing in has been completely rebuilt. Above me is the new Brewery bridge taking the A46 over the canal. The canal trench has been completely cleaned of mud and debris, and the lower walls refurbished in this stretch curving round the last few yards to Wallbridge lock and the pound above it.

There are four plots of land whose land-use and care we are discussing with various bodies. We want to make sure that the area is amenable for both visiting boats, but particularly for residents and visitors to the town.

When the plans were made for the renewal of the town, the money only stretched to the renewal of the waterway, its related equipment, bridges and the towpaths. This site was as the name suggest the site of the old Stroud Brewery, which was demolished long ago. But the remnants of the brewery's canalside wharf can be seen here, with the storage areas behind the barred portals in the Cotswold stone walls. No-one has taken the responsibility for repairing and making good this area, although it is looks so run down and abandoned. We are working on it. Here is a picture of the view from the top of the bridge looking in the same direction, featuring Clive, the Canal Visitor centre manager.

I was surprised at how many people were walking or cycling past me, many of them obviously coming to see the results of all the work, as I was. I like this picture without any other people or dogs, but with the architectural lines prominent; I also have a penchant for reflections. I was also checking to see where I might get good pictures from when the bridge is formally opened by Princess Anne in two weeks time. I hope to get permission to get fairly close to take official pictures for the town archive of John, Stroud's mayor, whom I have blipped many times before. Dailykeith blipped him on Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.