Nuthatch digesting

I needed to prepare for the finance committee meeting this evening, which I will be chairing, so I've only had a few minutes to grab a picture. I spotted a jay swooping past my study window but by the time I got my camera ready and moved downstairs it had flown away from the feeders.

It has been grey and overcast all day, but the snow is still covering the land. The birds haven't been so frantic about feeding, so I hope they are getting enough food. As I watched seven blackbirds were dotted about the garden awaiting turn to warily approach the food in the places that they can reach. The tits have no restraint, not even caring about the robins standing on guard beside the feeders as if the food was just for them. A goldfinch appeared and eat steadily from this sunflower feeder until a bullfinch dropped in and forced it away.

The nuthatch was also dominant, probably because the sharp pointed beak gives it a particular advantage over other small birds. I've chosen this picture because it at least has some colour in it to brighten the rather drab day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.