Sheep beside the canal at Ham Mill lock

As the sun was shining when Helena returned from her work this afternoon, I suggested she join me on a kingfisher hunt, which she jumped at. I had it in my mind to return to the canal at Hope Mill Lane where I blipped Stanton's bridge a couple of weeks ago. A couple of walkers who passed me while exercising their dogs both asked if I had spotted the kingfisher flying past me, which of course I hadn't.

So in my quest for 'proper' kingfisher' picture, by which I mean sharp and relatively close-up, I thought I would return to the canal. As it happened we didn't see one and instead we enjoyed a slow wander along the towpath between Hope Mill lane and Ham Mill Lane lock.

As we walked westwards we saw three sheep grazing on the strip of land beside the canal on the south side, owned by the householders who live in the rather narrow tract of land between the canal and the railway embankment. There is a bridge over the canal at this pint where the ancient footpath crosses it and the river and formerly l;ed the few yards to the railway halt called Ham Mill.

When w e were on the bridge one of the sheep came straight towards us where a metal railing separated them from the path from the bridge to the railway crossing. The faces of the sheep were so characterful that I couldn't resist taking a few pictures. I think they are probably a rare breed and were so friendly as they have lived their whole lives in this small area of land where there are always walkers passing by. As we prepared to leave they began to retire and here you can see them standing in front of the old ruined lock, which is awaiting renovation, and the canal as it bends round towards Hope Mill and its bridge a few hundred yards further on.

I've added a couple of other pictures of them on Flickr, here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.