CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

I've had a varied day which overran this afternoon.  I had shopping to do for a Salade Nicoise I'd promised to make for supper tonight, but also had to visit the pub to finalise arrangements for the Film Festival event we are holding there.  When I got to the pub I found that a wake was being held there and the publican asked me to come back at 5pm.

So I had a short break in my arrangements and decided to go to Fromehall Mill and look for some dereliction for the regular Thursday challenge of that name.

I parked by the old millpond and leet that goes round the side of the building and strolled around to the rear.  The building is owned by many different people or businesses and is looked after to varying degrees.  One part close by the River Frome was where the old mill wheel was situated under the Cotswold stone built mill and it is in particularly bad shape. We in Stroud Preservation Trust have been trying for some time to find who is responsible.

I found that to get round to the severely damaged part of the building meant I would have to find a way across the river and I didn't have enough time.  Instead I walked around another side of the building and came across this scene which was also depressing.  I've no idea how this has become such a dump but it looks to have been degrading for some time.    

Just out of the picture to the right is the remnants of the old iron sluice gates which wouldave controlled the damming of the leet to keep up a head of water for the mill machinery.  That certainly was derelict and had probably has been so since the early part of the last century.  I can't see this being cleaned up for some time which is a great shame.  Out of sight, out of mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.