Illium on the prowl

Whilst brewing some fresh coffee I looked out of the back door into the garden at the grimly grey day.  Rain was in the air but not actually falling and the birds were busy searching for any scraps left in the feeders.  the cold weather has meant that it is one of the busiest times for animals desperately hunting for food.

A couple of the usual small birds came close to the back door and I picked up my camera half-heartedly as I knew through double-glazed doors never produced usable images.  No change today.  But when I saw a jay fly into the rhus tree, inspect the empty tray and then fly away I decided to open the door and replenish the feeders.

But before I ventured out, the presence of some bullfinches, a nuthatch, a goldfinch and two robins distracted me.  Then Illium came close to where I was standing in the half open door but he is rather wary of me.  He is our neighbour's third cat  and the only one i really like because he and Bomble have played together ever since Illium arrived as a tiny kitten.

He strolled down to the next garden level where the patio and cabin are climbed onto the table and then leapt up onto the fence.  I assumed he would as usual jump further onto the roof of the next door shed, which is covered over with a clematis, as he likes to be high up to command that territory.  Instead he sat on the fence.

I waited with my camera ready and then heard a loud squawking and three blackbirds having a big argument flew across the gardens and disappeared off towards the cemetery.  I thought they might come back so to be prepared for  a fast shutter speed I set the ISO to automatic and waited. And nothing further happened.  Five minutes later Illium stood up and sensing he was going to leap down onto our patio table I wheeled round and fired off two shots and caught him in mid-leap.  Despite the high ISO I like this more than the few bird shots I had already taken.  Within minutes the rain had settled in so I finally went out to the cabin where the bird food is stored and topped all the feeders up.  The birds soon returned after i had frightened them away and  carried on stuffing themselves as I watched the rain fall over them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.