Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Forgiveness?

It's amazing what you find when you least expect it, like this grave for example which can be found in the churchyard of St.Catwg's, Cadoxton, Neath.

The full inscription reads as follows:

"1823 to record Murder. This stone was erected over the body of Margaret Williams, aged 26, a native of Carmarthenshire. Living in service in this parish, who was found dead with marks of violence upon her person in a ditch on the marsh below this churchyard, on the morning of Sunday 14th July 1822. Although the savage murderer escaped for a season the detection of man, yet God hath set his mark upon him either for time or eternity and the cry of blood will assuredly pursue him to certain and terrible but rightful judgement."

My faith is important to me and forgiveness plays a big part in that, but I have to admit it can also be a challenge on times when my family or I have been harmed. There is one situation happening now which I have a problem with and I find it extremely difficult to forgive. Let's hope for a peaceful night and just think of this reading from Luke 6:37:

"Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.