Someone's rubbish is someone's treasure

All the items of furniture in our home apart from bed, cooker, washer and fridge have either been found, swapped or handed down. Our floors are stripped wood so we don't have carpets, just runners or rugs which are also 'hand-me-downs'. I know this wouldn't be acceptable to everyone but I just love the fact that each item has a history, a story to tell.

This cupboard was left in the house when we moved in. Standing quietly in a corner, watching us, looking a bit worse for wear covered in a revolting glossy lime green paint. We saw the beauty underneath and stripped her bare, gave the wood a bit of something or other (perhaps linseed oil, I can't remember) and invested about three quid in a ceramic door knob for her. Then later I had a go at stencilling.

You can see where half the door has been bleached by sunlight, and the other half hasn't. It doesn't matter though because takes care of our towels and bed linen for us.

From time to time we've handed things on to others who needed items. I can't think why anyone would be offended by being offered 'hand-me-downs'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.