Arachne

By Arachne

Modern

I sing in a choir that rehearses at the most inconvenient time imaginable - Sunday lunchtimes. But it's fun, and challenging, and with a great group of people, and I enjoy our occasional meetings-up with choirs abroad, so I carry on.

My cycle ride to the rehearsal takes me along the Thames towpath. Today I was thinking 'modern' so stopped to look at the boat-house that University College built to replace the one that burnt down in 1999. I've passed it hundreds of times but never noticed before that the boathouses on the other side of the river are reflected in its various levels of glass. The one I've caught here is from the 1930s - a time when architecture was modern in a different sense. The distortion in the glass softens its very austere red-brick rectangles.

You might also just be able to see some rowers in a white boat - they were all out in force today for some competition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.