snapped by a curious mind

By iphigenie

160km, 1 medal

(still back blipping my trip to the vierdaagse in nijmegen, walking 160km with blipper pippiline. It started on sunday 13, it makes more sense if you start there)

So this is the medal we earned for walking 160km in 4 days. Or, as my World of Warcraft friends put it, our legendary quest reward trinket.

They do explain very seriously that this is an official royal medal of the Netherlands, not a joke at all (although 34962 people won or renewed their medal this year, so a widespread honor).

I already know I want to do it again next year, if I can find a co-victim or two. The danish hiking federation told me I had to come again next year and they would teach me/us danish while we walked. Maybe I can put it under 'training expenses' that way?

I want to do it again, I hope 'pippiline' can do it again as well. Since we are both in phases where our lives are up in the air, I am between jobs (maybe between careers) and she is going back to university, we dont know if either of us can make it. But I will try :D

Besides over 4 days we have developed a whole set of inner jokes, from student pricing to "blah blah blah" from grumbling at each other to the silly dutch songs, and some traditions... This needs to be refined and extended over more walks.

My walking holiday is offically over, now comes a week of catching up on paperwork and getting things done, before heading off to colorado for the 4-annual family holiday.


Links
-------------

Sunday 13 (travel) my blip - pippiline's blip

Monday 14 (waiting) my blip - pippiline's blip

Tuesday 15 (walking - the easy day) my blip - pippiline's blip

Wednesday 16 (walking - the tough day) my blip

Thursday 17 (walking - the better day) my blip - pippiline's blip

Friday 18 (walking - pain and determination) my blip - pippiline's blip

Saturday 19 (recovery) my blip

Sunday 20 (recovery) my blip

Monday 21 (return) my blip

Tuesday 22 (looking back) my medal - pippiline's blister (she got a medal too)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.