The Wren

By TheWren

Miss Nosey

This morning during my quilting group several of the ladies brought in quilt tops which were nearly ready to have borders sewn on. They ranged from those which used mixed remnants (known as scrap quilts) to others which were made with specially chosen fabrics or had a theme. It is fascinating that sometimes the same pattern can be used but it looks completely different depending on the choice of fabric and colour. Nearly all the quilts are eventually destined for friends, grandchildren and young children in hospitals (Linus quilts).

During the morning I received a text to say that No 1 grandson, aged 5, was in Reading hospital on oxygen as he was having difficulty breathing. Once home I checked how things were to see if my daughter and son-in-law needed me to drive down to help look after the other 2 boys ....I was on Red alert. However an X Ray now shows that he has a chest infection so hopefully he will improve once the antibiotics take effect and at the moment they can cope fine without me. He is to be kept in tonight and tomorrow for "obs"......so I am now only on Amber alert! It would take me about 8 - 9 hours to drive down so there is no point in my going if by the time I arrive everything is OK.

So, the dogs and I took off for our walk in the glorious sunshine and fresh wind. A perfect winter's day. Frost was still on the higher ground and I was enjoying taking photos of this, that and everything - especially where there were long shadows. I was concentrating on lining up one of the distant snow clad hills which had attracted a large white cloud on its summit when Cara's head appeared right in my viewfinder, as if to say, take my picture today. So my finger pressed the shutter. To prove how close she was I didn't do any cropping at all with this image and it was only when I put it up on the computer that I noticed how brown her muzzle was from rooting about in the mossy undergrowth. So, I felt she deserved to be my blip today for her sheer audacity. If you look just behind her head you can see the hill tops with their cloud covering which I had been attempting to take!

Later she and Bruce roused a couple of roe deer and ran off in hot pursuit of the little white rumps as they quickly disappeared. They were far too quick for me and I only managed a blurred distance shot! But at least I had seen them. Another time I noticed a buzzard with wings spread wide, cruising on a thermal but by the time I got organised he too had disappeared. I had also hoped for a sunset a bit later but it was rather ineffectual. So, Cara it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.